Go to Content
Special financing available No Credit Needed Financing.

Dover Publications Dvorák-Symphonies Nos. 8 and 9 ("New World") in Full Score


(No reviews)

Be the first to

Write a Review

SKU: D24749X-P

Print page
You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.
  • Images (1)
MSRP: Old Price $24.95 Discounted Price $23.70 Save : $1.25 (5%)
Order Now! This item is out of stock but will be available soon. You will not be charged until your item ships.
MSRP: Old Price $24.95 Discounted Price $23.70 Save : $1.25 (5%)
Add to Cart
Few composers have achieved the widespread and lasting popularity of Antonin Dvořák. He was a master of instrumentation and symphonic form, composing a total of nine symphonies. His most celebrated work, Symphony No. 9, "From the New World" (composed during Dvořák's three-year stay in America), echoes the folk spirit of his native Czechoslovakia as well as American influences, and is filled with the spontaneous melodic invention, rhythmic variety, and intensity of harmony that characterize his orchestral works.
The popular acclaim accorded the symphony "From the New World" tends to overshadow Dvořák's other symphonies, but Grove's Dictionary of Music and Musicians notes the "interesting…form…folk-spirit…virile serenity" of Symphony No. 8. The delightful freshness and uninhibited emotionalism of the composition have contributed to its lasting success. The Dover edition presents both symphonic masterpieces — among the most popular works in the orchestral repertoire — reprinted from authoritative editions in one inexpensive, practical volume.
This full-size, easy-to-read score has been printed with generous margins to allow insertion of notes, analyses, etc. The sturdy binding, high quality of reproduction, and affordable price make this volume ideal for musicians, music students, and music lovers in general.

Reprint of the Novello and Company, Limited, London, 1892, and the N. Simrock, Berlin, 1894, editions.


by PowerReviews
Information not available