CF Peters String Quartets Vol.1

Msrp: $68.00 / Savings: $3.40
Seen a better price?
Special Order Only - Call 800-472-6274
Details:  2 Violins, Viola, Violoncello (set of parts) Contents:  
6 Quartets dedicated to Haydn:
K387 G Major (Vienna, December 31 1782)
K421 d minor (Vienna, June 17 1783)
K428 Eb Major (Vienna, June/July 1783)
K458 in Bb Major/"Hunt" (Vienna, November 9 1784)
K464 A Major (Vienna, January 10 1785)
K465 C Major/"Dissonant" (Vienna, January 14 1785)

K499 D Major/"Hoffmeister" (Vienna, January 19 1786)

"King of Prussia" Quartets:
K575 D Major (Vienna, June 1789)
K589 Bb Major (Vienna, May 1790)
K590 F Major (Vienna, June 1790)
-- the King of Prussia, for whom Mozart composed these quartets, was by all accounts a cellist of no mean ability; especially if one may judge by these works, whose cello parts are elaborate and demanding, often soaring into the upper ranges, leaving the viola to take up its momentarily abandoned role as bass instrument!
Model Number EP16