Carl Fischer Stucky-Sonata For Violin And Piano

Msrp: $26.99 / Savings: $14.16
Seen a better price?
In Stock & Ready To Ship!
In his later years, Steven Stucky revisited traditional forms, including a symphony, opera, piano sonata, and the dramatically ravishing Sonata for Violin and Piano. Stucky describes the first and third movements as the main bulk of the sonata. The first movement alternates calm and lyrical sections with busy music that is sometimes forceful, sometimes playful. The third (Scherzo-Finale) begins skittish and fragmentary before embarking on a fiery allegro (con fuoco) and a slower, wistful melody. Between these larger movements, comes what the composer described as "like a sketch for a slow movement: too short to serve as much more than a linking Interlude, but nevertheless developing a surprising depth of feeling." The sonata was commissioned by the La Jolla Music Society for violinist Cho-Liang Lin who premiered the work with pianist Jon Kimura Parker.
Model Number 14440604
More To Explore